Beauty In Five

The daily five-minute brief on the beauty business.

Daily brief · 5 min
0:00 / 5:20

The day's stories

01

Interparfums Signs Ten-Year Puma Fragrance License

WWD Beauty reports a decade-long licensing deal putting Puma into fragrance, with product not due until 2027 — a marker of how far sportswear brands are extending into licensed scent.

Interparfums has signed a 10-year license agreement with Puma to develop a global fragrance line, according to WWD Beauty. The report says Interparfums intends to translate Puma's athletic and cultural positioning into scent, with the first launch set for 2027. The long runway means operators tracking licensed fragrance will not see shelf impact from the agreement for more than a year. Terms beyond the length of the license were not detailed in the report.

02

Macquarie PE to Buy Korean Manufacturers Hwasung and Nowcos

Global Cosmetics News reports a roughly KRW 300 billion deal for two K-beauty contract manufacturers, a signal of private-equity interest in the ODM layer supplying global brands.

Full story

Macquarie Private Equity has agreed to acquire South Korean cosmetics manufacturers Hwasung Cosmetics and Nowcos for approximately KRW 300 billion (about US$216.6 million), per Global Cosmetics News. The report frames the transaction as expanding Macquarie's exposure to K-beauty manufacturing. Brands sourcing from Korea may watch the deal for what it indicates about ODM capacity, ownership concentration and pricing. Closing conditions and timing were not specified in the report.

03

Henkel Names Christoph Kaul CEO of Olaplex

Global Cosmetics News reports Kaul succeeds Amanda Baldwin months after Henkel's US$1.4 billion acquisition — the first read on how the group will run the prestige hair brand.

Full story

Henkel has appointed Christoph Kaul as chief executive of Olaplex, succeeding Amanda Baldwin, according to Global Cosmetics News. The change follows the German consumer goods group's US$1.4 billion acquisition of the prestige hair care brand earlier this year. Installing a Henkel executive gives salon professionals and retail buyers an early indicator of the parent company's intended operating approach. The report does not detail changes to Olaplex's distribution or product strategy.

04

Nip + Fab to Publish Formula and Cost Breakdown for New Line

Cosmetics Business reports the brand will disclose full formula, testing and price data for its three-product skin care range The Fix, testing disclosure as a positioning tool.

Full story

Nip + Fab plans to publish a full formula, testing and price breakdown for The Fix, a new three-product skin care line, Cosmetics Business reports in an exclusive. The brand says the disclosure is aimed at building trust among sceptical beauty consumers, and describes the approach as setting a "new industry benchmark in transparency." Whether the level of detail becomes a reference point rivals are asked to match remains unclear. The report does not state launch pricing or retail distribution.

Also moving today

  • Annick Goutal Makes U.S. Comeback With Bloomingdale’s Launch Under Interparfums Luxury Brands WWD Beauty
  • Unilever Sells Zwitsal to Royal Sanders as Portfolio Reshaping Continues Global Cosmetics News
  • Arey Secures Series A Funding Led by Unilever Ventures WWD Beauty
  • Kenneth Cole partners with Joe Jonas for INSPIRE fragrance launch Cosmetics BusinessWWD Beauty
Read the transcript
Welcome in, today is Wednesday, September twenty-third, and we begin with WWD Beauty's report that Interparfums has signed Puma to a ten-year global fragrance license. Interparfums has signed a ten-year global fragrance license with Puma, according to WWD Beauty. Per that reporting, the line is not set to launch until two thousand twenty-seven. A decade of rights with a launch that far out puts development, scent direction and retail build ahead of the deal rather than behind it, which is the part buyers plan against. The same account frames the agreement as an effort to translate Puma's cultural and athletic relevance into a new global fragrance line. It does not detail territories, price tier or distribution. For operators watching how far athletic and lifestyle brands are extending into licensed scent, this is a mainstream sportswear name crossing over under a specialist fragrance operator rather than a luxury house, on a term long enough to absorb more than one product cycle. Interparfums runs a license-led portfolio, and this adds an athletic name to it. Also today, private equity is buying deeper into Korean manufacturing. Global Cosmetics News reports that Macquarie's private equity arm has agreed to acquire the cosmetics manufacturers Hwasung Cosmetics and Nowcos for about three hundred billion Korean won, roughly two hundred sixteen point six million US dollars. Per that reporting, the Macquarie Asset Management arm is taking Affirma Capital's seventy percent stake in Hwasung and Affirma's entire holding in Nowcos, with plans to buy the remaining thirty percent of Hwasung from its founder. The same account notes Affirma acquired Hwasung in two thousand nineteen and added Nowcos as a bolt-on. Ownership of the Korean ODM layer is what brands sourcing there feel first, through capacity allocation, minimums and pricing, so a sponsor-to-sponsor handoff at this size is worth logging. Separately, Olaplex has a new chief executive. Global Cosmetics News reports that Henkel has appointed Christoph Kaul to lead the brand, succeeding Amanda Baldwin. That report ties the change to Henkel's one point four billion dollar acquisition of the prestige hair care brand earlier this year, and it carries no start date, remit or structural detail. The appointment is the first concrete signal salon distributors and retail buyers get about how Henkel intends to run a prestige hair brand inside its portfolio, and questions about assortment, pricing architecture and salon-channel support tend to follow a change at the top. Now, a skin care launch built around disclosure. Cosmetics Business has it exclusively, and we have not seen it matched elsewhere: Nip + Fab is introducing a three-product line called The Fix, made up of a serum, a cream and an SPF. Per that reporting, each product's complete recipe goes online, including ingredient quantities rather than an INCI list alone, alongside full testing reports covering clinical studies, lab results and raw supplier data, including tests the products did not pass first time, plus a breakdown of what the elements cost. The company's managing director calls it the setting of new industry benchmarks in transparency. Early reaction leans toward industry-side amplification rather than independent consumer response, and some in the trade read full disclosure as an invitation to direct potency and price comparison, including against prescription-strength options. Ingredient levels are rarely published for a whole formula, so any rival asked to match this has to weigh what its own margin structure can stand. Now, a few more headlines moving the trade today. WWD Beauty reports Annick Goutal is back in the United States with a Bloomingdale's launch under Interparfums Luxury Brands, a year after Interparfums bought the Maison Goutal intellectual property from Amorepacific Europe for an undisclosed sum. Unilever has agreed to sell the Dutch baby and personal care brand Zwitsal to Royal Sanders, per Global Cosmetics News, terms undisclosed, as it concentrates investment behind brands with broader international reach. Arey has closed a Series A led by Unilever Ventures, WWD Beauty reports, with the Los Angeles brand putting the proceeds toward research and development, retail partnerships and clinical research. And finally, Kenneth Cole has launched Inspire, a new scent pillar fronted by Joe Jonas in a comedic parody campaign, per Cosmetics Business and WWD Beauty, which calls the label a top-five player in men's masstige fragrance.